Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Universitas 21 Announce Joint Ph.D. Program

Universitas 21 has announced that fourteen member institutions have established a joint Ph.D. program. The Memorandum of Understanding signed in May 2009 by Vice-Chancellors and Presidents from the universities of Auckland, Birmingham, British Columbia, Delhi, Dublin (University College), Edinburgh, Glasgow, Hong Kong, Korea, McGill, Melbourne, Nottingham, Queensland and Virginia:

“enables doctoral students to embark on joint degrees which will considerably enhance their research and employment opportunities on an international scale. Unlike a number of other joint programmes, this MoU gives an over-arching framework for universities to create tailor-made programmes of study for each student, taking individual research needs into account and enabling collaboration with another of the network’s universities.”

This is certainly an interesting collaboration in higher education and one to watch!

Universitas 21 is an international network of 21 leading research-intensive
universities in thirteen countries. You can learn more about Universitas 21 here.

No comments:

Post a Comment