Tuesday, June 17, 2008

The Historic “Seven Sisters”

In 1927 seven women’s colleges came together to form the “Seven Sisters” in an effort to promote private, independent women’s colleges and separate but equal liberal arts education for women.

Institutions that made up the “Seven Sisters” are:

Barnard College (New York, NY)
Bryn Mawr College (Bryn Mawr, PA)
Mount Holyoke College (South Hadley, MA)
Radcliffe College (Cambridge, MA)
Smith College (Northampton, MA
Vassar College (Poughkeepsie, NY)
Wellesley College (Wellesley, MA)

The organizational website:

No comments:

Post a Comment